J’s Pineapple Cake

My husband says this is a winner. He was most happy to sample it this afternoon, and complained that the piece was too small. 🙂

pineapple cake

You will notice that the cake is yellow, just like it should be.  This is a result of one of the tips I gave you on my last post.  To change the beige look of the oat flour, I add a couple of drops of yellow food coloring.  They won’t know the difference.

This creation is a result of tweaking the cinnamon chocolate cake recipe I uploaded to this sight some time ago.  I replaced the cocoa with finely ground powdered milk, used nutmeg instead of cinnamon, and Sugar Free Pineapple Gourmet syrup, instead of milk.  The filling is simply drained “no sugar added” crushed pineapple in it’s own juice, mixed with a bit of Splenda and Guar gum to thicken.  I used the 9 inch pan portions and baked it in my 8 inch pans, but you could use the 9 inch, as you are filling it with yummy pineapple.

You will notice that the pineapple is squeezed between to layers of the whipped cream icing.  I accomplished this by icing the top of the bottom layer, spooned on the filling, then iced the bottom of the top layer before putting the two together.

One twelfth of the cake is equal to about 14 carbs.  Still well under an average piece of bread.  If you leave out the pineapple filling then it reduces it to about 11.5.  Those few carbs aren’t worth it to me, so I will enjoy my pineapple, thank you!

The recipe is in my e-book.  Just click on the tab above, and go to page 27-28.

j’s Pineapple Cake

Enjoy!

J

Leave a Reply

