Tweaking a Recipe- Low Carbing It!

I recently came across a great chocolate chiffon cake recipe, but needed to down grade the carbs a bit.

Here is a link to the original recipe from “Joy of Baking.”

The first issue was making the cake four.

I substituted Arrowhead Mills oat flour for the 2 cups, sifted it, removed 1 tablespoon, and replaced that tablespoon with one tablespoon of cornstarch.  I replace the sugar with 3/4 cup of Splenda, then sifted all the dry ingredients together to get it as fine as possible.  With only these 2 changes, I followed the cake recipe adding the second half(3/4 cup) of the sugar(Splenda) to the egg whites.

The next major change was baking the cake at 325 for only 45 min.  As most of you know, using sugar substitutes sometimes requires altering the baking time.

The cake turns out great.

For the icing I used 4 ounces of unsweetened Bakers chocolate(broken into small pieces), with 3/4 cup of heavy cream, 1/2 cup Splenda, 1 tsp vanilla.  I microwaved it for 1 minute, gently stirring the mixture to melt the chocolate.   After adding 1 cup of Erythritol, and 1 tablespoon of butter( to replace the corn syrup),I return it to the microwave for 30 seconds, then stirred it again until it was smooth.

While the chocolate glaze was cooling, I mixed the chocolate whipped cream filling–here, again just substituting the sugar.

I assembled the cake as directed, but used all the cream filling in the center instead.  I finished it with the cooled sugar free chocolate glaze (Ganache).

Here is a photo of the finished product.

Low Carb Chocolate Chiffon Cake

Total carbs for 1/12 of cake is about 10-11 carbs per slice.  Not bad!!

My husband thought it was really yummy.  He did suggest that the next time I make it (soon he hopes)that I double the filling recipe and ice the whole cake with it.  And….this is a guy who doesn’t especially like whipped cream.

*Note- I stored my cake in the refrigerator because of the whipped cream filling.  I always remove it when I am cooking dinner so that it come to room temp before I serve it.  This way the icing isn’t too hard.

Happy cooking!

J

One thought on “Tweaking a Recipe- Low Carbing It!”

Leave a Reply

