Fluffy Low Carb Frosting

One of the things that keeps us from sticking to the “low carb” way, is that it takes a real effort, and some added expense to keep those “special” products in the house.  It is my hope that my recipes will be such that except for a very few items, you will be able to tweak your own recipes with as little effort as possible.  One of these options is keeping Guar gum on hand, and using it to replace part of the cornstarch in your recipes.

Case in point-  I used 1/2 tsp of Guar gum to replace 1 tbsp of cornstarch in the recipe below.

001 (5)

This afternoon I wanted a recipe for a fluffy buttercream frosting, so I pulled out my mom’s recipe which had a flour and milk base.  As an experiment, I mixed

2 Tbsp of milk powder (2.25 per Tbsp = 4.5 carbs)

1/2 cup water,

1Tbsp cornstarch (7 carbs per Tbsp)

1/2 tsp of Guar gum(0).

I cooked it to a paste, cooled it to room temp, press it through a sieve, then beat it together with 1 cube of room temperature butter, 1/2  cup Splenda and 1/2 tsp vanilla, on high until it was fluffy- about 5 minutes.

It turned out great- the formula worked.  This of course is a half recipe.  So by doubling this you end up with about 23 carbs for the entire frosting recipe.  Spread over an entire cake, divided by 12, you are only adding about 1.9 carbs to each slice.

002 (5)

Next time I make it, I will dink around with the milk portion, maybe substitute half of it with heavy cream and water.  I have learned to be careful with this, as in some puddings it has a tendency to change the texture.  My husband doesn’t like it, as it dilutes the flavor considerably-especially chocolate pudding.  I will let you know if it works well and update this post as to the results.

This is a yummy butter cream without the cream cheese taste.

Yes, you can use 8 ounce of cream cheese, 1 cup of butter, along with Splenda(or your favorite substitute) and vanilla.

My husband prefers this version, especially as I use it to make a SF black forest cake with SF cherries on top.  Yumm!

J

Leave a Reply

